2011 A.P. Bolton Award – Statewide Winner & District 1 Winner

2011 A.P. Bolton Award - Statewide Winner & District 1 Winner2011 A.P. Bolton Award – Statewide Winner & District 1 Winner
The “A.P. Bolton Award” is the Asphalt Contractors Association of Florida’s highest award for the best asphalt project in the state. Congratulations to Nokomis Area 1 for receiving this prestigious award.

SR 93 (I-75) in Manatee County – Milling and Resurfacing
The project presented the normal scheduling challenges of having to work within restrictive time lines for the lane closures, plus the added challenge of further restrictions on ramp closures. Project production had to be geared to arriving at exit ramps only within the time frame allotted for closure of ramps. SR 93 (I-75) required three inches of structural course on the main line, which is normally laid in two lifts to minimize distortion and maximize compaction. However, we successfully developed a mix design that enabled us to lay the three inches in one pass and still obtain maximum density and with no deficiencies. Night work always presents a safety concern, but this project was completed without any issues.

FDOT personnel stated that this is the only project in Manatee and Sarasota Counties within FY 2009-2010 that revealed 0 Laser Profile deficiencies.

Contract Amount: $3,644,453.63
Total Tons of Asphalt Used: 36,601.65
Contract No: T1359

You have met the daily challenges with a “Can do” attitude, and we appreciate your dedication and hard work.

Foremen: John Bunn, Walter Cabral, Vinnie Ferrone, Bob Popielarz and Mike Schwabach.
Crew: Andy Anderson, Dwayne Barnett, John Chancy, Dan Daurizio, Steve Dobbyn, Steve Fisher, Charlie Gatchel, Duane Heineman, Danny Hunter, Diego Jaramillo, Felipe Monroy, Russ Moorhead, James Pittman, Robbie Popielarz, Tim Smith, Pete Sonnenberg, Bill Stanton, Tony Tovar, Harry Whitney, Jason Wolfe
Quality Control Field Technician: Lee Strauss